Nightly Routine

fullsizerender-4

Today I’m going to be sharing with you my quick nightly routine. This may not seem quick to some, but for me it is! I love relaxing at night, especially if I am coming home from a long day at work. I just love the feeling of doing something that is pampering, relaxing, and makes me feel good. Continue reading to see what my routine is!

fullsizerender-3

The first thing I do is wash my face. I do this whether I have makeup on or not. I’ve been loving e.l.f.’s Daily Face Cleanser. It leaves my skin feeling clean and soft. I hate when I use face wash that leave my skin either oily feeling or give me that tight dry feeling. The bottle also lasts awhile which seems surprising for the size, I’ve had this bottle since right after Thanksgiving and for the price, you can’t beat it!

fullsizerender-2-copy

After I wash my face, I usually apply a mask. I strive to do a mask 3-4 times a week if not more. Masks are something I treat myself with to not only help my skin but to also make me feel like I am at a spa getting pampered. If you can’t tell already, I love being pampered. Tonight I was using Lush’s Mask of Magnaminty. If you read my December Favorites posts, you know how much I love this mask. If you haven’t read it already, click here to read all about this mask.

As my mask is setting in, I make myself a cup of tea (I know, it’s not wine and it’s weird). Normally at night I drink Celestials Sleepytime Tea. This was another thing mentioned in my December Favorites. It could totally be a mind trick but I really do think it helps me sleep better, fall asleep faster, and stay asleep longer at night.

fullsizerender-3-copy

Once my mask is all set (usually 10 minutes or however long the package says to keep it on for), I go and was it off. I tend to throw the water all around either when I am washing my face or taking a mask off, so I find using my downstairs bathroom sink that is a little larger easier. I gently massage the water onto my skin to massage the mask in and rinse it off. Once the mask is off, I’ll take a towel and pat my face dry trying not to pull on my skin to help prevent wrinkles.

fullsizerender-5

After my mask if off I put on a moisturizer and use a lip scrub to help get rid of all the dry skin I am developing in the cold air. I can’t wait for the days that it is over 20 degrees. I’ve been using Olay’s Active Hydrating moisturizer for as long as I can remember. It makes my skin so soft and moisturized feeling and I love that. I also have been loving Lush’s lip scrub in Mint Julips (obviously because of the nod to the Kentucky Derby drink!) This really does leave my lips soft and gets rid of the dead skin. The best thing is, after I am done rubbing it in, it is edible so I can lick it off my lips!

fullsizerender

Lastly I love to end the night curled up in bed reading a book. Recently I’ve started The Merciless by Danielle Vega. I’ve been loving suspenseful books lately and this really keeps me on the edge of my seat, or should I say edge of my bed (don’t worry, I rolled my eyes as I typed that just like you rolled your eyes as you read that). I usually only read a few pages, if it were up to me I would probably read a book a night. But, for some reason Rob thinks sleep is important and makes me put my book down and go to sleep…annoying (just kidding Rob I love you thanks for always watching out for my health…you the best!)

fullsizerender-4

And that’s the end of my nightly routine! Soon I’ll be posting a video of my nightly routine when I have more time to do things. Let me know what your nightly routine is in the comments below and if you have any suggestions for a face mask or moisturizer let me know!

Leave a Reply

