Yummy Chocolate Cake


This last weekend was my moms birthday and I wanted to do something special for her because she deserves it. Every year for our birthdays, she will always make us a cake or cupcakes; whichever one my brother and I wanted and made them exactly as we wanted them. This year I decided to make her a cake but, I took the task of making the cake from scratch and the icing from scratch. And when I say from scratch, I found the cake and icing recipe in Tanya Burr’s Tanya Bakes that I got for Christmas (I highly recommend it and you can find it here or here)

Baking is probably one of my favorite things to do. For some reason, I just feel so accomplished when I bake something and it comes out like it is meant to be. It also helps that Rob will either help me in any way that he can or he’ll be in the next room keeping me company as he watches TV.

I used bigger cake pans than Tanya suggests in her book but that only meant that I ended up with two layers as opposed to three. The cake bakes evenly and this was the first time I had a cake come out of the oven level instead of having a rounded top I have to cut off…which was a mix of excitement and disappointment to me. I had already planned to use the extra cake I had to cut off as decoration on the top by crumbling it up. Don’t worry, with the help of wine I figured out another plan.

The biggest suggestion that I have for this cake is for when you go to make the icing; make sure you let the butter soften up A LOT before you start to mix it with everything. If you don’t it will not incorporate how it should. Also, add the sugar in a little at a time. I ended up only needing to use half of what the recipe called for. Of course I found this out after I already poured it all in and it became a lumpy mess. That only meant that I had to dump it and start all over again.

I let the cake sit out overnight to make sure that it was completely cooled before I started to ice and decorate it. I wanted mine to have the raw look like it did in the book so I only put icing between the layers and on top. To make it special I ground up some dark chocolate ships and sprinkled them on top of the cake before I put it in the fridge to set a little before transporting it.

Yummy Chocolate Cake

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Delicious dark chocolate cake with white chocolate icing

img_6463


Credit: Tanya Bakes by Tanya Burr

All of the ingredients are in grams. I went to Wal-Mart and bought a $5 scale that measures in grams and used that for this recipe

Ingredients

  • 200ml full-fat milk
  • 100g dark chocolate (70% cocoa)
  • 300g flour
  • 75g cocoa powder
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 375g sugar
  • 200ml vegetable oil
  • 3 large eggs
  • 200g greek yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Icing

  • 200g white chocolate
  • 250g salted butter, soften
  • 600g sifted icing sugar (add this a little at a time)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and spray/line cake pans
  2. Put the milk in a pan and bring to a simmer. Take off of the heat and add the dark chocolate. Leave the chocolate to melt and mix to combined and smooth
  3. Mix the flour, cocoa power, baking powder, baking soda, and sugar in a bowl
  4. In a separate bowl, whisk the oil, eggs, yogurt, and vanilla extract. Slowly add the chocolate mixture and whisk until well combined. Fold in the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and sugar and mix until smooth
  5. Divide evenly between pans and bake for 18-20 mins or until toothpick comes out clean when poked in. Transfer to wire cooling racks
  6. For the icing melt the white chocolate in a bowl. In another bowl, whisk together the butter and icing sugar until smooth and light. Add in the white chocolate and stir until well combined.Decorate however you would like!
Leave a Reply

