Essential Oils

img_6581
Ever since I posted the above photo on Instagram about a week ago I have been getting a lot of emails asking me what oils I use and how I use them. For Christmas my boyfriends sister got me my diffuser and oil set so I haven’t been able to go through all of them yet but I already know when I am going to use them! I am by no means saying my way is correct and the only way to use this, there are many ways and scents affect people differently so while lavender is meant to calm people, it might not calm everyone. Bath time is meant to help put babies to sleep but it always woke me right up…not that that example has anything to do with this post but you catch my drift. What I’m trying to say is that there is no right or wrong way to use essential oils so continue reading to see how I use mine!

 fullsizerender-2

I love using lavender right before bed. It could totally be a mental thing but I feel that ever since I started using it, I sleep better and wake up feeling more refreshed. My oil diffuser also changes color so I love putting it on the purple setting to help calm me. Lavender is a versatile oil that produces pure relaxation and the ultimate state of calmness. It helps get rid of stress, pain, and anxiety.

fullsizerender-3

Tea tree oil can be used to help heal wounds due to it antiseptic properties and can aid in preventing future infections from occurring. When applied directly to the skin, it as a cooling sensation and livens up dull, dry, dead skin, While using it with a diffuser, it acts as a natural disinfectant for the air and gets rid of any bacteria in the air while creating an invigorating scent. I love using this scent while I am working on either the blog, editing pictures, or editing videos.

fullsizerender-4

Eucalyptus is a great oil to use while having a cold. Its unique scent (mixture of mint and spicy pine) helps improve respiratory issues and can clear out any heavy congestion or cough that someone may be suffering from. It also is an anti-inflammatory that can help skin irritation and hydration of the skin. While I don’t want Rob or I to get sick any time soon, I can’t wait to use eucalyptus to see if it helps us.

fullsizerender-5

Orange is the sweetest scent of all essential oils. It is a breath of fresh air with its citrus, tangy scent. It contains the rich d-limonene which aids in maintaining normal cellular regeneration but it also gives off a calming effect. Whenever I am in a bad mood I will use this essential oil because it aids in promoting positive attitudes while inducing relaxation.

fullsizerender-6

Lemongrass is another scent that I will use at night time to help calm me down before sleeping. It is meant to aid in balancing the mind and inducing relaxation. Externally, it can aid in relieving muscle aches and pains and helps kill harmful bacteria. Lemongrass is also an antiseptic that provides multiple vitamins for the skin and can boost the energy of the user.

fullsizerender-7

Peppermint is probably one of my favorite essential oils, besides lavender. Due to its minty and refreshing aroma, it is well known as menthol and is great for many health restoration properties. It can also be used to treat many organs due to its medicinal and calming aroma. It also can help calm gastrointestinal issues, relieve anxiety, and reduce muscle pain. When using peppermint in a diffuser, it will liven up the mind, body, and soul. This is another one that I love to use while working on the blog or doing any other work that I have to do.

fullsizerender

One thought on “Essential Oils

  1. Pingback: January Favorites

Leave a Reply

