Flakey Buttermilk Scones

Today I am going to be sharing with you guys a quick and easy buttermilk scones recipe! These came out sooo good I am honestly impressed with myself (so is Rob so that says a lot). These are perfect to make for Sunday brunch with your friends and family!

When I say these were so easy to make, I am not exaggerating! In 10 minutes I had these in the oven baking while I sat back and “watched” the NASCAR race. They only have 7 ingredients in them (unless you add in some extras like I did)

Brunch is by far my favorite meal (as I’m sure you all could probably tell by now) so of course I jump at the chance to make a brunch recipe. After being sick all day on Saturday I knew I needed to make something to make myself feel better (surprise….it really didn’t…but it lifted my spirits so there is that!) Rob loves his scones with raisins in them and I love chocolate chips. When we were grocery shopping I actually found a bag of chips that had a mixture of chocolate and peanut butter! I decided to make both Rob and myself happy by splitting the dough and making scones for each of us…I’m so nice. You can also leave the scones plain and they will be perfect on their own, with tea, or with any jelly/topping you would want!

Flakey Buttermilk Scones

  • Time: Prep: 10 minutes Bake:12-15 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Deliciously flakey buttermilk scones perfect for brunch!

DSCN0441


Credit: You can find where I got my inspiration here

[recipe-Ingredients]

  •  3 cups all purpous flour
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, cold and cubed
  • 1 cup buttermilk

[/recipe-Ingredients]

[recipe-Directions]

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Either lightly grease or line two baking sheets with parchment paper
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. (I used salted butter so I skipped adding in the salt)
  3. Add in the butter and cut with a pastry cutter or a fork until the pastry looks coarse. You should start to see little butter balls forming. (I suggest if you don’t have a pastry cutter, get one before making these to make cutting in the butter easier. If you use a fork, either have alcohol handy to help you through it or someone to step in if you get tired)
  4. Make a well in the middle and add in the buttermilk. Combine ingredients but do not overtax! If you are adding any extras, add them now. (I split the dough in half before adding in the raisins and chocolate/peanut butter chip mix)
  5. Transfer the dough onto a flour surface and divide in two (if you haven’t done so already in the previous step). Knead dough out until it is about 3/4″ think and 6″ in diameter. Cut each round into 8 slices, like a pizza, and place on baking sheet making sure to space them out. (I baked mine whole…it seemed to turn out okay doing that also)
  6. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until they start to brown. Be sure to watch them though because they brown up the second you walk away.
  7. Let cool a little on a baking sheet and serve warm. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

