Reasons I’m Antisocial

img_0024_facetune_22-10-2018-16-53-27By now is anyone surprised to find out that I am antisocial? I love staying in and lounging around in cozy clothes with my puppy (I do like to go out…sometimes). But by being antisocial I have found some shows and books that I love! There is nothing better than curling up on a fall or winter night under a blanket with a good book or show!

What I’m Watching:

Ozark

This is kind of a darker series but still fun to watch! It centers around a family that needs to move to the Ozarks in order for the father to launder money. Now he is laundering the money in order to keep his family safe from a violent drug gang…that he got involved with on his own. After things come to light that he didn’t know about he needs to think fast on his feet in order to save his life. And Jason Bateman is in it.

Handmaid’s Tale

I know that I said Ozark was dark but, this is that much darker. It takes place in a world where women who are deemed as “bad but savable” have no rights and are only there to carry the children of those deemed worthy. Did I mention that these women do not have a say in what happens to them? It follows the story of June and how she is trying to break free and escape what is happening to her so she can get back to her family.

Shane Dawson’s Jake Paul Documentary

Is Shane Dawson's series on Jake Paul actually worth watching?

Let me be the first to say that I do not like the Paul brothers. They are over-the-top obnoxious, put others in danger, and do stupid things. Both have had their controversies this last year. Shane Dawson created a YouTube series exploring the mind of the youngest, Jake Paul. While Shane wants to determine if Jake is a sociopath, he also just wants to bring to light why Jake is the way he is. He didn’t do this as a redemption for Jake but, watching the series, makes you sort of feel for Jake. Shane not only investigates Jake, but also his parents, brother Logan, ex-girlfriend, and ex members of Team 10. While I don’t think anyone should watch this to feel bad for Jake, I do think people should watch this as a reminder that someone can be going through something without anyone knowing.

Parks and Rec

This is just a classic, do I even need to say anything else about it?

What I’m Reading:

Girl Logic- Iliza Shlesinger

Iliza is probably one of my favorite comedians right now. Not only is she hilarious, but she also tells it like it is. And not in a “I’m still going to sugarcoat it way” but in a way that matters. She is all about loving the body you are in and having equal rights but, she also describes the rabbit hole of Pinterest and a group of girls going out for the night perfectly. In this book she goes over why women think the way that they do and reminds everyone that we all go through the same things and no one is alone in anything.

Handmaid’s Tale- Margaret Atwood

I do love reading books before watching the movie/TV show. Of course I did Handmaid’s Tale backwards and started watching it before reading the book. It is interesting to see how similar yet different the book is to the series and how they have moved the story along after the book has ended.

What are you currently reading or watching? Be sure to let me know!

Until next time,

stefanie leigh

Leave a comment